My Sister Jodie by Jacqueline Wilson

My Sister Jodie – Jacqueline Wilson ( web )
Publication: 2008
Page Count: 244
My Rating: A Rainy Day Read
Suggested Audience: Girls

My Sister Jodie
Background

When Pearl’s parents get jobs working at prestigious Melchester College, it spells a move to the country for the entire family. Studious and shy Pearl is ecstatic when she learns that she has the opportunity of attending Melchester College as a student – after all, it must be just like the boarding schools in the Enid Blyton books that she coverts! But life isn’t that simple – Pearl’s rebellious sister Jodie cannot stand the idea of moving to the country; imagine living in a place where there are no shops!!! Will Melchester College be the change that this family needs, or will it end in disaster?

My Thoughts

I always loved reading Jacqueline Wilson’s work as a young girl. I still enjoy reading it now. As you read these novels as an adult, you can’t help but be amazed at how well she has captured the voice of a child in her writing; it is completely unsurprising that she is such a popular writer for young readers.

Most of Jacqueline Wilson’s writing is plot-driven by realistic narratives – her novels tend to feature children in disadvantaged circumstances, with plots considering topics of homelessness, domestic violence, mental disability and bullying. Jacqueline Wilson skilfully considers these subjects in a way that is not overtly confronting to the sheltered child, but is still relatable to a child actually in these situations. I have often thought that Jacqueline’s writing would be a real relief to a child who found themselves in a situation like the protagonist in these novels – knowing that you are not the only child experiencing homelessness; living with disabled family members; having difficulty at school… Jacqueline’s novels work so well because they reflect the reality of millions.

In saying that, out of all the the Jacqueline Wilson novels I have read, My Sister Jodie is not my favourite.

While realistic storyline is not a prerequisite of children’s literature by any stroke of the imagination, I have come to expect it of Jacqueline Wilson’s work, and My Sister Jodie, for the most part, lacked in authenticity and truth. The final few chapters actually do begin to consider a very serious subject after Pearl’s sister Jodie is in an accident, but I felt that this was brushed over very quickly and not written in a way that would benefit a child experiencing this circumstance.

I have talked to a few girls who fit into the target age group of this novel, and they have all said the same thing – the plot doesnt strike them as something they MUST read, but they would still be happy to try My Sister Jodie given that it was written by Jacqueline Wilson. So basically, I don’t completely write this book off as a ‘don’t even bother’, but I personally would be persuading you to try other novels by Jacqueline Wilson before trying this one (such as The Illustrated Mum, The Worry Website and Lola Rose)

Where Can I Get It?

To buy My Sister Jodie for a great price and have it shipped straight to your door for free, follow this link to the Book Depository.

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

What do you think? Leave a Comment!

