– – Out Studying Literature – –

I haven't been around as much as I would like these last few weeks – I've been finishing off my last few essays to finish my literature degree!!

And now I'm in that awful limbo-land – to begin further study or not???

I have always thought that my next degree would be based on Australian literature; either focusing on works by Kate Grenville (The Secret River, Sarah Thornhill, The Leuitenant) or Chris Tsiolkas (The Slap, Loaded).

So when I heard that Chris Tsiolkas is coming out with a new novel in a few months, I got very very excited – who knows if the impetus of my dissertation lies somewhere within the pages of Barracuda??.

I've also been considering studying in the area of Australian migratory literature, which Chris Tsiolkas' earlier texts have definitely been a firm fit…

If I choose a range of texts to look at, it doesn't have to be just a selection by the same author; I can choose a few texts with a similar theme and consider how the authors explore them…

But I guess what is worrying me is studying THE SAME novel/s for at least an entire year. I don't want to be bored; I want to be challenged… At the end of the day, I'll most likely continue study, but what I'll study is still firmly in the hands of the gods!

If you had to study the same novel (or set of novels) for an entire year (and have to write 15 000 words at the end of it), do you know what you'd want to study?? I'd love to hear all about what you'd be reading and studying….

 

What do you think? Leave a Comment!

